The Federalist Papers


Federalist Papers


The Federalist Papers are a collection of essays written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay. The trio wrote a total of 85 essays which discussed the flaws in the United States Federal Government under the Articles of Confederation and explained the reasons why the newly written Constitution should be ratified by the states.  Although it is not completely clear who wrote several of the essays, it is believed that John Jay wrote five, James Madison wrote 28, and Alexander Hamilton wrote the lion-share of the publications which totaled 52 in all.

Federalist Papers referenced on this site, in What IS Right With America blog or in American History for the Modern Patriot podcast:

Federalist 15

Federalist 47

Federalist 78